Welcome to Africain Art - African Mask

Art Africain - Masques d'Afrique, 20600 Furiani (France)
33 (0) 6 98 39 39 45, jm@masque-africain.com

AFRICAN ART - MASK-AFRICA PROVIDES YOU with THE DELIVERY ! *

*The shipping costs are offered from 100 € of purchase (offer valid for metropolitan France).

African Art : collectible original, unique pieces, antiques and handicrafts

Each one of our trips to Africa allows us to introduce you to [New Products], original finds and unique pieces, antiques and crafts. African Art expresses itself especialy in the masks and figures created for the rituals punctuating the various stages of the personal and social life [African Masks].

West and Central Africa offers a rich and eclectic craft, different according to the ethnic groups to which they belong. Baoulé, lunar or family Masks, single pieces from the 50's, from Ivory Coast [Masks from Ivory Coast], or Dan, Dan bassa, Dan pompier, Dan tura, Dan mahou or representing women's faces ; note the Gouro passport mask, which was not intended for dance but allowed to identify its bearer during meetings between villages. Ivorian art is also expressed in sculptures, notably by the Sénoufo and Baoulé ethnic groups: statuettes of colonists, couples, figures and maternities describe Baoulé art while the Senoufo statuary even wears riders. [Statuary and fetishes from Ivory Coast].

The Punu ethnic group is mainly from southern Gabon, some pieces and antiques are over 35 years old and reliquaries Mahongwe, of the ethnicity of the same name, some of which are polychrome wood [Masks from Gabon].

The Dogon are from Mali: Dogon masks use the pantheon, featuring a sophisticated bestiary (antelope, hare, buffalo, monkey, bird, hyena, lion) and some dance masks from the early 20th century [Masks from Mali]. The statuettes include men, women or couples as well as fetishes [Statuary and Fetishes from Mali].

The specificity of the mask Cimié Ijo is to be worn on the head without covering the face, some date from the 70s [Masks from Nigeria]. The Chamba are mostly present in northern Cameroon and Nigeria, their statuary is mainly men, women and wives  [Statuary and Fetishes from Nigeria].

Among the African ritual objects, fetishes, statuettes, settlers, riders, couples or maternities hold an important place: Lamba or Losso fetish, old pieces dating from the middle of the 20th century and Ewé statues or settlers from Togo [Statuary and Fetishes from Togo], Old or contemporary objects Senoufo, Abbey, Abron, Agni, Attié, Koulango and Tagbana distinguish the wealth of Ivorian statuary since the 19th century. Iron snakes, hunting sticks, dolls and statuettes represent Burkina Faso  [Statuary and Fetishes from Burkina Faso].

For collectors, [Weapons and ancient war pieces] Takuba Touareg, sabers and daggers worked of the Sahara testify to the excellence of the craftsmen of this ethnic group, at the beginning of the 20th century.
Ancient Mangbetu pottery, men and women represented in ceremonial objects or ancient masks come from Congo DRC [Masks from Congo RDC] and the statuettes represent human figures [Statuary and Fetishes from Congo].

Also in gallery, some [Terracotta] Attié of Ivory Coast, or Niger made by the Bura, Nok and Djéné ethnic groups, with exceptional antiques more than 100 years old, from excavations.

[Curiosities and unusual objects], like stones, statues or fetishes from the village of Gohitafla, Côte d'Ivoire, or sawfish rostra, for sale online. Statuettes and reliquaries of the Fang ethnic group, whose particularity is to be composed of sub-groups, themselves divided into tribes and family clans originating from Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon; also Mahongwe religious pieces, mainly from Gabon, [Statuary and Fetishes from Gabon].

To consult, our section of objects already sold, for orders or special requests [sold objects].

tribal heritage: Primitive arts, tribal heritage of other continents. [tribal Heritage].

The sacred arts of Vietnam : Liturgical objects and shaman objects of the ethnic minorities of Vietnam.

Dong Ho painting : The famous painting of Dông Ho are realized from xylographic boards which are then colored. The colors of these prints come from the nature. Craftsmen burn bamboo leaves or straw to obtain black; the verdigris gives the green; and indigo, blue ... [Dông Hô painting].

The gallery presents an old collection of masks from Nepal and the Himalayas. [Masks of Himalaya]

Exclusively a beautiful private collection of old Alaska Eskimo masks. [Eskimoan masks]

To widen horizons a selection of contemporary Cuban painters. [Cuban painting].

accueil MasquesTerres CuitesArmes et OutilsAccessoiresSièges TraditionnelsBronzes AnciensStatues et FétichesCuriosités

Découvrir notre page Facebook logo-facebook

Chacun de nos voyages en Afrique nous permet de vous présenter nos arrivages [Nouveautés et exclusivités], trouvailles originales et pièces uniques, antiquités et objets artisanaux. L'Art Africain s'exprime notamment dans les masques et figures créés pour les rituels jalonnant les différentes étapes de la vie personnelle et sociale [Masques africains].

L'Afrique de l'Ouest et du Centre offre un artisanat riche et éclectique, différent suivant les ethnies auxquels ils appartiennent. Masque Baoulé, lunaire ou de case, pièce unique ancienne des années 50, de la Côte d'Ivoire [Masques de Côte d'Ivoire], ou Dan, Dan bassa, Dan pompier, Dan tura, Dan mahou ou représentant des visages de femmes ; à noter le masque passeport Gouro, qui n'était pas destiné à la danse mais permettait d'identifier son porteur lors des réunions entre villages. L'art ivoirien s'exprime également dans les sculptures, réalisées notamment par les ethnies Sénoufo et Baoulé : statuettes de colons, couples, figures et maternités déclinent l'art Baoulé tandis que la statuaire Sénoufo porte même sur des cavaliers [Statuettes de Côte d'Ivoire].

L'ethnie Punu est principalement originaire du sud du Gabon, certaines pièces et antiquités ont plus de 35 ans d'âge et les reliquaires Mahongwe, de l'ethnie du même nom, dont certains sont en bois polychrome [Masques du Gabon].

Les Dogon sont originaires du Mali : les masques Dogon font appel au panthéon, figurant un bestiaire sophistiqué (antilope, lièvre, buffle, singe, oiseau, hyène, lion) et certains masques de danse datent du début du 20e siècle [Masques du Mali]. Les statuettes figurent des hommes, femmes ou couples ainsi que des fétiches [Sculpture du Mali].

La particularité du masque Cimié Ijo est de se porter sur la tête sans recouvrir le visage, et certains datent des années 70 [Masques du Nigéria]. Les Chamba sont surtout présents dans le nord du Cameroun et au Nigéria, leur statuaire représente essentiellement des hommes, des femmes et des épouses [Sculpture du Nigéria].

Parmi les objets rituels africains, les fétiches, statuettes, colons, cavaliers, couples ou maternités tiennent une place importante : fétiche Lamba ou Losso, pièces anciennes datant du milieu du 20e siècle et statues ou colons Ewé en provenance du Togo [Statues du Togo], des objets anciens ou contemporains Sénoufo, Abbey, Abron, Agni, Attié, Koulango et Tagbana distinguent la richesse de la statuaire ivoirienne depuis le 19e siècle. Serpents en fer, bâtons de chasse, poupées et statuettes représentent le Burkina Faso [Statuettes du Burkina Faso].

Pour les collectionneurs, [Armes et pièces anciennes guerrières] Takuba Touareg, sabres et poignards ouvragés du Sahara témoignent de l'excellence des artisans de cette ethnie, au tout début du 20e siècle.

Des poteries anciennes Mangbetu, hommes et femmes représentés en objets de cérémonie ou des masques anciens viennent du Congo RDC [Masques du Congo RDC] et les statuettes représentent des figures humaines [Statuette du Congo].

Egalement en galerie, des [Terres cuites] Attié de Côte d'Ivoire, ou du Niger réalisées par les ethnies Bura, Nok et Djéné, avec des antiquités exceptionnelles de plus de 100 ans d'âge, issues de fouilles.

Des [Curiosités et objets atypiques], comme les pierres, statues ou fétiches du village de Gohitafla, en Côte d'Ivoire, ou des rostres de poisson scie, en vente en ligne. Statuettes et reliquaires de l'ethnie Fang, dont la particularité est d'être composée de sous-groupes, eux-même divisés en tribus et clans familiaux originaires du Cameroun, de Guinée Equatoriale et du Gabon ; également des pièces religieuses Mahongwe, principalement en provenance du Gabon, [Sculptures du Gabon].

A consulter, notre rubrique d'objets déjà vendus, pour commandes ou demandes spéciales [Objets vendus].

Héritage tribal : Arts premiers, arts primitif, héritage tribal d'autres continents. [heritage tribal].

Les arts sacrés du Vietnam : Les objets de culte et les objets chamaniques des minorités ethniques du Vietnam. [Les arts sacrés du Vietnam].

Les estampes de Dông Hô : Les fameuses estampes de Dong Ho sont réalisées à partir de planches xylographiques qui sont ensuite colorées. Les couleurs de ces estampes proviennent de la nature. Les artisans brûlent des feuilles de bambou ou de la paille pour obtenir le noir ; le vert-de-gris donne le vert ; et l’indigo, le bleu… [Les estampes de Dông Hô].